The Quail Diaries–Reflection 2

21 08 2008

Last night, while running in our Seattle neighborhood, I thought I smelled woodsmoke. I’m not sure where it came from, but it reminded me of the smell of the fire zone.

Devlin holding ash

Devlin holding ash

Is it about me or the birds?

I am taking a few days off from the lab because I am pretty exhausted and because I need to reflect. But when I get back into lab, the budgerigar and feral cat DNA will be waiting. I’ll purify my quail DNA and maybe even order up some primers to genotype these individuals. But then what?

At any rate, here are a couple of interesting things Devlin and I saw on that hike

The first is, of course, a pacific gopher snake (thanks to my mom for identifying it--my herp knowledge is as poor as my plant knowledge) <em>Pituophis catenifer catenifer</em>.  I knew it was not a rattlesnake and, as I love snakes, I was very happy to see it.

The first is, of course, a pacific gopher snake (thanks to my mom for identifying it--my herp knowledge is as poor as my plant knowledge) Pituophis catenifer catenifer. I knew it was not a rattlesnake and, as I love snakes, I was very happy to see it.

The second is one of several newly excavated holes that we saw in the fire zone.  I am not sure to whom they belong.   But they attest to the fact that, perhaps

The second is one of several newly excavated holes that we saw in the fire zone.

I am not sure to whom these new excavations belong. But I do know that they attest to the fact that, perhaps

departed, have left no address

my anxiety about the survival of the creatures on site
was overwrought

The rattle of the bones, and chuckle spread from ear to ear.

italics are from T.S. Eliot’s The Fire Sermon

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

