Am I excessive? Then I am excessive, I contain multitudes.

2 10 2008

I will tell thee the mystery of the woman

Sarah Palin has ridden in—the Whore of Babylon herself. An invert Whore of Babylon, in a real day threat of an inverted apocalypse. Good old Revelation John, who the misguided believe was John of the Jesus Testament.

And I saw the woman drunken with the blood

I believe that if Governer Palin ever becomes President, the work that President Bush and Vice President Cheney started will be completed in our time and our country will, metaphorically, or perhaps in reality, go up apocalyptic flames. Practicing detachment, this does not bother me. Being a mother and a lover of all life it makes me, to quote Gov. Palin herself, ill.

And [I] shall wipe always all tears

I am thinking of ways to shore up our necessities for survival, and our weapons for a quick exit. We have our passports and I am scanning the horizon for different realms. Perhaps Mexico.

all shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone

But to return to Revelation John. The evangelicals like to talk about the glorious End Times, when their angry god will call them home and dash the rest of us—the rest of life for that matter—into dust. They are wrong. It will not be that sort of apocalypse because, I believe, they have misjudged their god. This apocalypse will ride in on the dust of empty space, and the forces of the universe will dash us, evangelical Christians, and the like, into nothing (beautiful nothing, beautiful ALL). And that doesn’t sound so bad to me. Except that it won’t happen that quickly. Except that there will be tremendous suffering. Except that suffering will lay itself out on the human and nonhuman alike. Except that suffering will blanket the old, the middle aged, and the young. Except, dammit, my kids. Except that suffering will blanket MY kids.

and over his image and his mark

The Evildoers in the White House have stolen, have already destroyed much of the possibilities that were my children’s future, and if Gov. Palin receives the country, this place will be blasted into a wasteland of economic, environmental, social, etc etc degradation. We may have to hide from the cannibals, are you ready my children, are you packed?

And I saw an angel come down
They are afraid but do not say so.

and cast him into the bottomless pit
and I saw the souls of them that were beheaded

And whosoever was not found written in the book of life was cast
into the lake of fire.

Italics are quotes from The King James version of The Book of Revelation.

Actions

Information

4 responses

2 10 2008
citizengoat

Hey, Jen. Beautiful post. It’s so true it makes me want to weep. Revelations, as in, oh I get it! Finally. Oops–too late.

People have started asking me if I want to change my name. But I was born first. She can change hers. Plus I could beat her up. Being a hockey mom does not make her a hockey player. Only loud.

7 11 2008
archangel305

So now that we have Elected the Prince from the abyss? Do you still think Palin is the Whore Of Babylon?

7 11 2008
jen

As I do not agree with your premise, I cannot answer your question unless I parse it. To the first part–from Time magazine
“I began my Christian journey over 20 years ago, as a young man fresh out of college. And since that time I’ve been serious not only about deepening my relationship with Christ but also about the way that all Americans can live together in our diverse, pluralistic society.”
(President-Elect Obama)

To the second part, yes.

7 11 2008
jen

I should say, too, that your first clause suggests you mistakenly think we elected Dick Cheney president.

Leave a Reply

